Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

This may end up being one of the most bizarre posts I’ve written yet! I just read an article in the NYTIMES about the innovations that the big soda makers are releasing in an effort to improve their falling sales.

At first, I found myself wondering about the impact of all the weight loss surgery on soda sales. Those of us who’ve had restrictive procedures are not permitted to drink sodas. A fact of life. And, since many of us may have considered sodas to be an essential food group all by itself, I suspect that decreased consumption among this group may have had some impact.

However, the fact that many non-surgery folks view sodas – quite rightly – as empty calories, liquid candy, of no social or nutritional value has more than likely made the biggest impact.

So, the industry is unveiling – you guessed it – fortified sodas! Fewer calories, more nutrients! Less carbonation!!!

As I read, I continued to pooh-pooh the idea as just another gimmick, which it is, of course. But then I came to this line:

[one of the formulations] will contain niacin, vitamins B6 and B12, magnesium and zinc

and lightbulbs went off in my head! Those of us who’ve had gastric bypass don’t absorb B vitamins at all well. In fact, I use chewables to improve absorption. Other people I know use liquid B complex. But here we have a chance to get our B vitamins in SODA? and a less carbonated version at that?

Maybe some of us will try it. With no sugar, and added B vitamins, it’s something to consider, depending on the amount of these vitamins per serving. And if we de-carbonate it [pouring it over ice, or pouring it from glass to glass a couple of times – and why on earth am I posting ways around the ‘no soda rule??’], maybe it’ll help some of us.

There’s the bizarre part. I’m actually thinking that a form of soda may not be the worst thing that could happen to some people? Good heavens!

Perhaps there’s some comfort in the realization that the amount of soda that WLS patients have stopped drinking isn’t much more than a drop in the sales bucket. But if I’m thinking that this might be something to consider, what do the rest of you think – those who haven’t had surgery and have no intention of doing it?

10 thoughts on “New sodas are coming!

  1. vickie says:

    I haven’t had the surgery, but have struggled with my weight for over 40 years.. I think its just the new getting healthy trend.If McDonalds has started with healthy salads, and states are banning trans fats in restaurants, then it makes sense that the soda industry will try and follow the lead.I have tried to limit my diet soda former habit to when i go out to dinner and everyone else is grabbing the bread.It has become sort of a treat for me now.. Of course, who knows what will happen tomorrow??? ahhhhhhh!!!!!

  2. Lee says:

    I’m thinking there is no reason to trust a company that requires me to purchase things that kill me (or are known, KNOWN to be harmful) in order for it to survive. Humans over companies. Real food over fake. No Soda. Trust your first instinct.

  3. Andrea says:

    You may have a point. I’ve noticed that you rarely see good sale prices on soda anymore. When I was drinking a lot of it I could get cases for $4 each. Now the best sale I’ve seen is two cases for $11 — a dollar and a half increase. Could this be because soda sales are dropping and the soda companies can’t afford to cut their prices like they used to?

    I only rarely drink soda anymore. However, my in-laws drink soda all the day long, so I can’t say it’s a widespread phenomenon.

  4. Cheri says:

    I dislike the diet sodas so rarely drink them….now, if they could come up with a Coke with Splenda AND vitamins, maybe I’ll go back! Right now a coke is a treat I seldom get. (we Texans call ALL sodas coke!)

    Cheri

  5. susan says:

    How weird. I gave up soda for Lent and to be honest, I’m not missing it all that much.

  6. Southamerican Slimmer says:

    Ive always found that sodas taste horrible, personally, and wondered what all the fuss was about, but perhaps one of those soluble effervescent vitamin tablets dissolved in plain water might be a good substitute for a vitamin-enriched soda.

  7. Deirdre says:

    I’ve never been a soda drinker. Mostly because I grew up one of eight children and there wasn’t money for frivolities like soda except for birthdays. Birthday parties are pretty much the only time I drink soda to this day.

  8. Barbara says:

    Two things: I’ve been told that the carbonation in drinks is just as detrimental to our teeth as sugar is so that even drinking diet soda is harmful.

    The second thing is I just read an article that they did a study at a university in Texas that people who drink regular soda are gaining weight at something like 43 percent and people drinking diet soda are gaining weight at 54 percent. (DON’T HOLD ME TO THE EXACT NUMBERS BUT THEY’RE CLOSE.) They don’t yet know why, but they believe that maybe the diet sodas make people more hungry.

    Personally it took me a long time to rid myself of the soda cravings, not only the sugar addiction but the addiction to carbonation with the sugar. Now that it’s out of my system, I have no intention of going back. I don’t believe the soda companies will create anything for us that is not addictive and a money maker.

    Water is my new drink of choice, and they say that water will be the “gold” of the future and more expensive than gasoline, so I say enjoy while we can.

  9. Gail says:

    It’s funny how things have changed. When I was a kid we only drank milk at meals and soda was only for going to a restaurant (and that was limited to one glass) and special occasions. Now I see children drinking soda like crazy. I actually say someone put pepsi in her baby’s bottle. I just couldn’t keep quiet on that one. My grandchildren do not get soda, only juice, very rarely milk. Is this heading toward another bad trend???

  10. Anna says:

    I’m with you, Lee. I cannot believe all the chemicals in soda can possibly be good for anyone. I gave them up years ago and don’t miss them. The taste of diet sodas are awful once you’ve been off them a while. I am a confirmed tea junkie, though. Once vice at a time…

Leave a Reply

