Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

That’s the question, isn’t it? Did she gain her weight back? Is that why she stopped writing? It’s a pretty logical if-then scenario. And the answer is NO. And, well, YES. And, Is that all there is?

For the record, I did gain back around a fifth of what I lost, maybe a bit less. I gained that weight back long before I stopped writing here, however. And I have held my weight steady now for almost two years. My reason to stop writing was because my time has become even more precious.

Family matters have delivered a whole new lifestyle, and blogging was starting to supplant exercise time. If I have to make a choice, I’ll take a walk before I blog. I hope you will too.

It was fun to be thinner. It was even more fun to be more fit than I am now. But it was really very time consuming. I needed to choose a body I could maintain without quite so much effort (I was working out 10-14 hours per week on top of a 50-60 hour professional week.). And this is that body. Or pretty close.

Yes, I took a long side-trip into grief during these past couple of years. I’m sorry that I didn’t have more grace to see that period through, but I’m actually quite pleased at how little ground I lost, physically, through that time. I lost a great deal more mental than physical ground there, trust me.

So, I’m not now concerned about my weight. (Actually what I’ve lost interest in is Fashion, but we’ll get into that ere long…) I’m concerned about my fitness, my health, and time. I’m not as fit as I’d like to be, and I have to choose every day to do all the things I need to do to stay healthy. That is, forming healthy habits that fit my life and my body is still hard work for me, still a work in progress. That’s still my focus. (…Little break to go take my vitamins, which I sometimes forget to take…)

I have lost interest in diet programs that promise pounds lost by guaranteed time, but remain interested in watching carefully what I eat, making sure I don’t eat more than I need but do eat all I do need (still struggling to get in my veggies and fiber and water). I’m still very careful about sweet and starchy foods, and suffer when I eat too much of them.

I ‘ve lost interest in prescribed exercise regimens, but still love to move, sweat, and work my muscles until they fail.

So I still enjoy a really low resting heart rate and blood pressure, but I can’t climb the dune steps in the park near my house without stopping, which I must defeat before the winter ices them over. (If, in fact, we ever have icy winters again.)

I am no longer thin, no longer wearing single-digit sizes. But I’m pretty darned fit, and getting fitter, and still working to, as Danielle in Seattle puts it, change my LIFE. (Hi there, Danielle.) Which is all it’s been about all along.

So, I guess, nothing’s changed, has it? However, everything’s changed. Is that good news or bad news? Or all there is? Details coming…

12 thoughts on “Did she or didn’t she?

  1. Deirdre says:

    Everyone has to work out a lifestyle they can live with. It’s all about sustainability. Single digits are pretty trivial.

  2. Pug-lover says:

    Having been both 100# heavier over 25 years ago and 35# thinner about 12 years ago, I can identify with you Juju. I sometimes miss the thinner me, but have learned to appreciate what is right with me each day. So many women live-and-die and never appreciate their bodies or at least stop hating them. So sad…
    I think it is good to be a bit pragmatic and find something right today. Makes for a better day for me and everyone I touch.
    I never fear food anymore and am able to live in peace with it on a daily basis, and I move as much as possible within the time/physical constraints of my current life.
    What more can I ask?

  3. autumnseer says:

    I would say you have found balance and are in a very good place. Great to hear.

  4. Mrs Lard says:

    “So, I guess, nothing’s changed, has it? However, everything’s changed.”

    I thought that was so pertinent. It’s great to read what you have to say. Welcome back!

    Thank you.

    Mrs Lxx

  5. Anne says:

    It sounds like good news to me – you’re in a sustainable place and that’s huge. You’ve also looked at what’s important to you and adjusted expectations to work with the lifestyle you want. I’m happy for you 🙂

  6. curt says:

    i am so happy to see you back! you are, like the rest of us, in the midst and mess of balance. i am reminded of the aged wooden teeter-totter that sat on the playground in front of my brick school house on the north dakota prairie. i was the earthbound fat kid, in the sears size 20 husky blue jeans, who needed two classmates on the opposing end to be lifted into the air . . . it was worth the teasing of the play-groundlings to be rocketed, like the challenger, into the freedom of the sky and returned to earth with the tingling pleasure of the low belly tickle . . . up and down, up and down, up and down . . . recess and lunch break were never long enough to satiate my appetite for teeter-totter thrills.

  7. sherry says:

    I have a magnet on my fridge that says, “THE ROAD TO SUCCESS IS ALWAYS UNDER CONSTRUCTION.” Amen on that one.

    Personally, I don’t know of anyone who has lost weight and maintained “Olympic sized fitness” and been able to DO real life at the same time. I’ve heard about people who become super fit and begin working AT a fitness center as a personal trainer. Well, yeah — super fitness could be maintained then! But for the rest of us with “regular” jobs on top of the family commitments, crisis, etc., and so on, it’s a real challenge to maintain our fitness levels. Finding a health groove with a sustainable pace, that’s what’s impressive in my book! And that’s what you are doing! Way to go JuJu!!!

  8. Dianne says:

    Julie…so glad you’re back. Love the new you! Well…loved the old you, too, but I’m really identifying with making peace with a 50+ body and focusing on being fit and healthy.

  9. Kathy Beebe says:

    Just happy to see you back. Missed you!

    Kathy

  10. Betty says:

    It’s great to see you back. I enjoy your writing and your journey. It speaks to me on such a deep level.
    It’s a journey, EVERY day, sometimes life gets in the way of what we want for ourselves so we have to adjust our parameters. Keeping our mental health can be such a balance too, I try to just keep going forward. No matter what, just keep going forward. It’s working for me mentally. I’m miserable with my body, but that will come for me again or a version I can be happy with.
    Keep up the good work, you’re a big inspiration for many people!

  11. Anna says:

    Curt, I loved what you wrote. For me, it was the swing set. What a rush!
    Thanks for reminding me.

  12. Brenda says:

    Hey!
    I am so glad to see you back and am glad I was on the mailing list. You have been sorely missed.
    I have the old site saved to faves and still go there for articles from the past etc. like “keeping a Body log”…fabulous writing, tips etc. and encouragement we can all use.
    Take care, be good to YOU……and have a blessed day.
    Bren

Leave a Reply

