Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

So, as I reclaim the contents of the SDP from the old site, I am, of course, reviewing it to see what holds up, what’s new, what isn’t working any more. And I’m glad to note that everything that’s here still rings for me. But something’s missing… and I could use your help filling in the blanks.

We have a definite point of view here, and we’d hate for people to come looking for something they’re just not going to get and waste a lot of time, right? And though we have worked hard to be supremely supportive of everyone’s path, still… we’re only human… we have a point of view.

So I’m thinking of writing a little POV statement to put in the top navigation of the site, just, you know, sort of tack it to the front door, to alert new people of the nature of this community we’ve formed. I can’t do that without your input, now, can I?

So let’s use this post as a kind of writeboard, a way to share ideas about what should be in the POV statement. How to tell people who we are and what we’re about. I imagine we’ll keep working on this document over time. It’ll be a kind of “living document” and grow and change as we learn things and change and add new people, and etc. I also expect it’ll be a collection of pithy statements. Kind of a creed. Kind of a manifesto. Kind of a constitution. But not that heavy.

Here is the beginning of a rough drafty draft:

1. Your health cannot be measured with a measuring tape or scale or calipers, or the size of your jeans. We recommend real measurements like bloodwork, resting heart rate, blood pressure.

2. If you form and stick to great body maintenance habits, including eating well and exercising daily, then the body you achieve by sticking to your maintenance plan is a great and beautiful body.

3. If you form and stick to great body maintenance habits, including eating well and exercising daily, and your health measurements continue to decine, or you continue to put on an alarming amount of weight, you should seek medical attention.

4. Forming and sticking to great body maintenance habits is hard work for everybody, and should never be a source of shame or embarrassment.

5. You get one body. It’s not like anybody else’s. You must learn what it needs by listening to it constantly.

???

What else? What else? Do you agree? Is this a good start? Do you disagree? Why? Let’s write this baby and put it up there and keep working on it. Worried that I should change the name of the site now… hmm…

17 thoughts on “POV…

  1. Laura says:

    I like them. And I’m glad to see you again! 🙂

  2. jujuridl says:

    This is just my note to self to include a bit to the media about the portrayal of obese people as headless…

  3. I love what you’ve written so far.

    In addition to learning what we need in order to care for our bodies, we need to be responsible about following through. And not have unrealistic expectations about the results of the work we do.

    Also, decline has an “l” in it. Proofreading is my gift from God. Heh.

  4. Cheryl Sims says:

    I like what you have to say and right now I can’t think of anything to add. Maybe how it is a lifetime “struggle” and not an overnight fix. I seem to focus on the overnight and can’t seem to “get” the lifetime bit!! I am so glad you are back.
    Cheryl

  5. Mj says:

    From DICTIONARY.COM…

    SKINNY:
    5. Slang.
    a. accurate information; data; facts.
    b. news, esp. if confidential; gossip: “Here’s the skinny on the latest Hollywood scandal.”

    So… without changing the site name, change the spin on the ‘skinny’… and keep us informed !

  6. Summer says:

    I think if you were to attach something some passer by is going to read and catch the POV of this site – it should be more of a byline…a mission statement so to speak and then the manifesto can be posted on the front page…just thoughts considering readers will not always take the time to find out what we are about unless something catches their attention. Slowing down & smelling the roses does not seem to blog readers.

    Welcome back juju! It is nice to hear your friendly voice again.

    Summer

  7. Summer says:

    ooops – last line 1st paragraph is supposed to read – slowing down and smelling the roses does not seem to apply to blog readers.

  8. meg says:

    I think the phrases under your banner–“Losing weight is one thing.Maintenance is quite another” states the point of view very clearly. If one needs more, the program tab says it all. This site is highly informative, supportive and uplifting. Thanks for all of your hard work. Glad you are back!

  9. Sally Rhodes says:

    When I have trouble with my weight (like I am right now) I try to go back to the basics that worked for me in the first place when I lost my weight (68 pounds). That included lots of water, and a little pop, but not much!!

  10. Sally Rhodes says:

    I am so glad to see your web site again–I’m telling lots of people about it!

  11. Michelle says:

    Juju,
    YOU ARE MY HERO!!!!! I am so proud of you I could burst. What you have accomplished is amazing. Don’t forget that it is not only how you have cared for your body- but what you have taught so many of us. I am now a marathoner- because of YOU. And guess what- it was not about- the time, the goal, the conquest- You sold me on the SPIRIT. What it means to be a part of something that is bigger than yourself- which is exactly what this blog is all about. In my business of the theatre- we say it is focus on the process- not the product- because ultimately when the process is there the product follows. I am more convinced than ever that we all just need to find whatever it is that touches us- speaks to something deep in us- enables us to be strong. There are so many options out there- and that they change and grow with us and some of us are lucky enough to find wise sages like you who throw us a bone now and then. I celebrate your return.

  12. Larissa says:

    I like your statements as written. A change of focus is what I’m going through myself. Due to premature menopause I’ve gained about 10 pounds. Devastating to me after losing 90 lbs! But I’m slowly learning to appreciate the new me… who eats well, and excercises at least 5/7 days per week. My shape may be changing, but I’m still living my life with my health in focus.

  13. Cindy says:

    The by-line or subtitle of the site ~ Losing weight is one thing. Maintenance is quite another. ~ This really states your POV exceptionally well and brings the reader in to hear more. So, creating a POV statement might be an exercise that will be fun for you and your readers, but don’t feel that it is necessary to “sell” the site. Ans Skinny Daily is okay, too, in my mind. It can be read literally (as in what can I do every day to work at my goal—with skinny being the catch-all phrase for not fat or unhealthy any more—and face it, we ALL want to be some kind of “skinny,” however we define it), or, as another commenter remarked, it can be used as a slang phrase, as in- “Let’s get the skinny on this life maintenance work. What are people thinking about today?” Plus, there are so many of us that have become accustomed to the name (and as for me, I don’t particularly care for change—and enough things have HAD to change in my life, so why mess with something that doesn’t?!).

    It is so nice to have this discussion and to have you back to provoke my thinking. Keep prodding!

  14. Cathy says:

    I also love all 5 points and cannot think of anything to add right now. Perfect! And also, I love the simple but true line at the top about losing and maintenance. I have learned this is true the hard way!! Haven’t we all. I agree a mission statement (like the great line at the top) is easier for people to quickly read the purpose of the site, then you could list the 5 points below or on the first page.

    Me too on being happy to receive SDP’s again! I missed them!

  15. RS says:

    I’m new to the blog, and have been reading some back issues, so this perspective is from someone looking from the outside. Some of those POV statements were/are outstanding. Honestly, I was about to jump over to some other blog, but those statements really framed for me what this blog is about (or at least what I hope it’s about).

  16. Karen says:

    I don’t know how long you’ve been back, but I have really missed you! The “daily” check in to keep me “skinny” shows in more ways than one.(much to my dismay) I am ready to get back on track. It was very hard to maintain without the support you give. Keep up the good work. I WILL stay in touch.

Leave a Reply

