Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Here’s a good way to enter the holiday feasting season, with a copy of Gary Taubes’ Good Calories, Bad Calories by your side. You remember Gary Taubes. He’s our friend from the 2002 NY Times article wherein Taubes begins to lay out an argument that refutes the low-fat diet so fashionable these past few decades.

Well, in Good Calories, Bad Calories, he’s finishes his thought. Boy does he. We stand to learn a lot, judging by the interview with my personal boyfriend, Ira, at Science Friday (give a listen, especially if high cholesterol and heart disease haunt you or your family.)

Those of us who have finally lost and maintained a significant weight loss by giving up sugar and flour will feel supported and sustained by this guy’s research and hard work. All of us are bound to gain a militant edge — again — over the means and methods by which public health recommendations are developed and issued. That is, it’ll get your back up. Oh it will.

So. A book report, or at least a list of favorite lines, when I’m done with the big read. I have a hunch it’ll keep me focused on the bird and not so much the spuds this year.

There should be a prize for this kind of writing, the kind that stands to save lives. Don’t you think?

I don’t think there is anything quite like a big bunch of investigative journalism on the food and diet industry that does quite so good a job of building my own personal resolve. I’m so glad for his timing.

5 thoughts on “Good Calories, Bad Calories

  1. Kathy says:

    I’ve been hearing good things about this book…might have to put it on my Christmas list.

  2. Migraine' says:

    I am sure, absolutely sure, that Taubes saved my life with his NYT article. I had barely even heard of Dr. Atkins before then, must less the notion that starches and sugars were bad. Taubes is a personal hero of mine; I wish more journalists were both as courageous and thorough as he.

  3. vickie says:

    Science Friday is one of my favorite things. My teenage son (soon to be 18) plans his week around it.

    Is the leg doing better?

    Have a great holiday!!!

  4. Eileen says:

    What a coinky-dink! I just bought that book, and am trying my best to plow through it – it IS a monster – AND I just happened to discover you’re back blogging! YAY – a very good day, indeed. Welcome back from someone who’s been lurking around for years …

Leave a Reply

