Skinny Daily Post

Invincible.

Hello? Hello? sKinny daily post

I wonder?

Five years is a bit of a long time between posts… If you are still looking, well hi there, and thank you so much for your interest!

I’ve decided to write about this topic again. And more widely, cutting a broader swath this time, I think. If this work sticks and helps someone, terrific. Here’s hoping. As always, its intention is to help me think and to help you find focus, too. I’m leaving my breadcrumb trails. If you have something to add, point out, correct my thinking, direct my attention to, that would be great. Always open for learning.

It’s still going to be about getting fit, staying fit, the life of the body. But I’m getting still more fierce, focused, political. Because, as we learned from our teachers long ago, the body is politic, after all.

But to any readers who may actually still be around, as stunning as that might be, don’t you worry. I don’t think I’ve lost my humor. Not yet.

Right. To catch up… Well, I’ve been buried for five years. Really in a bunker of disease- and pharma- and pain-induced confusion. I’m mostly out of the bunker. I’m well up the stairs. More than head and shoulders, I do believe. (I don’t tempt fates by bragging.) More work to do. Much more.  That’s the other piece of it. I’m not writing this time from the vantage point of the peak of health. I’m writing from the place of fighting to get back to fit. But I’m getting there, and I’m going to share what’s working for me. Some amazing stuff. Really great stuff.

I was lost to illness for a long while. And I’m so sick of being sick. I’m not going to focus on illness here. I’ll work on behalf of my ill shadow self on my other blogs, but this place is all about rising from near-dead.

Skinny Daily Post is coming back with a new life and a new mind that works in a different way than it used to. Appreciating what I can do. Being thankful that I am still here. Assembling the raw bits into a new being and a new person and moving ahead. I’m writing in wide, loopy, non-specifics, yes. Something I would never advise students of writing to do, but only because the real writing comes next. This is just the announcement that I will begin again.

But here is a twist. Part of my illness brought with it a bit of havoc with my brain that led me to artwork as therapy. Oh this is a long story that will spin out and spin out…

So this blog will include some of that too. No kidding. It’s going to be a graphic blog. A big change in my life is that I live in two places now. In Michigan and in Florida. And I love to paint both places. You’ll see the places I love. And some of the people, too.

Oh yeah. It’s going to be a new voice, a new look, a new way of thinking about food, and I have discovered that much, much has changed out there in the world of nutrition science. My goodness! YOU haven’t been asleep have you, World?

29 thoughts on “Comeback Kid

  1. Marie says:

    Welcome back! I used to read this blog frequently but haven’t looked for a new post for a long time. I read your posts about Lyme disease and felt awful that you were so sick. I happened to see a notice pop up in my email; I’m so glad you’re better! And I’m so glad you’re back.

    1. jujuridl says:

      Hello, Marie! Thanks so much for your hello! Oh how I’m looking forward to more of this! Have to knock a few webs out of my brain! But that’s all good. Much catching up.

  2. jean kirchenr says:

    Welcome back! Can’t wait to take up this journey with you!

  3. Tish says:

    Hallelulah! Welcome back. So glad to hear that you are over the worst and getting better. I look forward to reading your posts and to seeing your art work.

    1. Michelle says:

      This is the best news ever!!!!

      Come back kid, indeed! The world had Big open arms ready for you! With much love and gratitude! See ya on the journey!

      1. jujuridl says:

        You bet my pet! I may need to interview my globetrotting runner one of these days…

    2. jujuridl says:

      Tish!!!!!!! I’m excited!!

  4. Marilee Talmage says:

    Love the tiny “invincible” in your header! Make it bold!!

  5. Carrie says:

    Yay!!!!!!!

    1. jujuridl says:

      My bestest nurse..

  6. Sandy Hansen says:

    I am soooo glad to hear that there are improvements in your health and I am looking forward to your musings.

    1. jujuridl says:

      Thanks, dearest. Alive is good!

  7. Jo says:

    Welcome back!! So lovely to get an update after so long and really glad you’re doing better. Excited to hear about what is working for you :-))))

    1. jujuridl says:

      And I’m thrilled to hear from you, Jo!!! I’m all ears!!

  8. loisem says:

    So very happy! Can’t wait to read and be inspired… on so many fronts!

  9. Anne says:

    Great news. I’m really glad to see you’re blogging again.

    1. jujuridl says:

      Thanks, Anne. I’m so glad you are here.

  10. Jackie says:

    So glad for you, Jules. Sure but steady. XOXOXO

    1. jujuridl says:

      Like rocks!!! What kind of rocks should we grow up to be, Jackie?

  11. Danda says:

    You are the first blog I read and was truly inspired by…look forward to getting more fit “side by side” (well, I’ll read, you write, we’ll both do some exercise, okay?!) Best wishes to you!

    1. jujuridl says:

      Thanks, Danda! Me too! So kind of you to be here.

  12. boyink says:

    Yes – still reading and still rooting for you!

    1. jujuridl says:

      Oh, thanks, Mike!

  13. You might not have been Skinny Posting, Julio, but you were never “gone” from the minds of those who love you and who have been blessed by your boundless generosity and wisdom. Can’t wait to be back in the dialogue.

    1. jujuridl says:

      Too, too kind to me, as always. Thanks.

  14. shrinkingknitter1951 says:

    Wonderful to see this post! I’m quite a bit behind in my blog reading, also due to illness. Looking forward to catching up.

    1. jujuridl says:

      Sorry to hear that! But I’m glad you’re back, too!

Leave a Reply

